Aug 17, 2013

{Review} Altered by Jennifer Rush

Jennifer Rush
Pages: 323
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover
Source: Library
Age Group: Young Adult
Date Published: January 1, 2013

When you can’t trust yourself, who can you believe?
Everything about Anna’s life is a secret. Her father works for the Branch at the helm of its latest project: monitoring and administering treatments to the four genetically altered boys in the lab below their farmhouse. There’s Nick, Cas, Trev . . . and Sam, who’s stolen Anna’s heart. When the Branch decides it’s time to take the boys, Sam stages an escape, killing the agents sent to retrieve them.
Anna is torn between following Sam or staying behind in the safety of her everyday life. But her father pushes her to flee, making Sam promise to keep her away from the Branch, at all costs. There’s just one problem. Sam and the boys don’t remember anything before living in the lab—not even their true identities.
Now on the run, Anna soon discovers that she and Sam are connected in more ways than either of them expected. And if they’re both going to survive, they must piece together the clues of their past before the Branch catches up to them and steals it all away.

Aug 12, 2013

{Review} Mind Games by Kiersten White

Kiersten White
Pages: 237
Publisher: HarperTeen
Format: Hardcover
Source: Library
Age Group: Young Adult
Date Published: February 19, 2013

Fia was born with flawless instincts. Her first impulse, her gut feeling, is always exactly right. Her sister, Annie, is blind to the world around her—except when her mind is gripped by strange visions of the future. 
Trapped in a school that uses girls with extraordinary powers as tools for corporate espionage, Annie and Fia are forced to choose over and over between using their abilities in twisted, unthinkable ways…or risking each other’s lives by refusing to obey.
In a stunning departure from her New York Times bestselling Paranormalcy trilogy, Kiersten White delivers a slick, edgy, heartstoppingly intense psychological thriller about two sisters determined to protect each other—no matter the cost.

Aug 11, 2013

{Review} Etiquette & Espionage by Gail Carriger

Gail Carriger
Pages: 307
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Format: Hardcover
Source: Library
Age Group: Young Adult
Date Published: February 5, 2013

It's one thing to learn to curtsy properly. It's quite another to learn to curtsy and throw a knife at the same time. Welcome to Finishing School.
Fourteen-year-old Sophronia is a great trial to her poor mother. Sophronia is more interested in dismantling clocks and climbing trees than proper manners—and the family can only hope that company never sees her atrocious curtsy. Mrs. Temminick is desperate for her daughter to become a proper lady. So she enrolls Sophronia in Mademoiselle Geraldine's Finishing Academy for Young Ladies of Quality.
But Sophronia soon realizes the school is not quite what her mother might have hoped. At Mademoiselle Geraldine's, young ladies learn to finish...everything. Certainly, they learn the fine arts of dance, dress, and etiquette, but they also learn to deal out death, diversion, and espionage—in the politest possible ways, of course. Sophronia and her friends are in for a rousing first year's education.
Set in the same world as the Parasol Protectorate, this YA series debut is filled with all the saucy adventure and droll humor Gail Carriger's legions of fans have come to adore.

Aug 9, 2013

{Review} What Really Happened in Peru

Cassandra Clare and Sarah Rees Brennan
Pages: 133
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books
Format: ebook
Source: pulseit
Age Group: Young Adult
Date Published: April 16, 2013

Fans of The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices know that Magnus Bane is banned from Peru—and now they can find out why. One of ten adventures in The Bane Chronicles.
There are good reasons Peru is off-limits to Magnus Bane. Follow Magnus’s Peruvian escapades as he drags his fellow warlocks Ragnor Fell and Catarina Loss into trouble, learns several instruments (which he plays shockingly), dances (which he does shockingly), and disgraces his host nation by doing something unspeakable to the Nazca Lines.
This standalone e-only short story illuminates the life of the enigmatic Magnus Bane, whose alluring personality populates the pages of the #1 New York Times bestselling series, The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices series. This story in The Bane Chronicles, What Really Happened in Peru, is written by Sarah Rees Brennan and Cassandra Clare.

Aug 8, 2013

{Cover Freakout} Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi

I haven't been around in a while, and I'm so sorry. I'm shocked people still come by here, but I appreciate it so much! I haven't been reading a whole lot because I've got books to read for school so I've been procrastinating on those, and then I got into Fringe which is freakishly addicting (I ship Peter/Olivia so hard). 

Anyways, I just saw the cover for the last Shatter Me book and had to say how much I love it!!!

Juliette now knows she may be the only one who can stop the Reestablishment. But to take them down, she’ll need the help of the one person she never thought she could trust: Warner. And as they work together, Juliette will discover that everything she thought she knew—about Warner, her abilities, and even Adam—was wrong.
In Shatter Me, Tahereh Mafi created a captivating and original story that combined the best of dystopian and paranormal and was praised by Publishers Weekly as “a gripping read from an author who’s not afraid to take risks." The sequel, Unravel Me, blew readers away with heart-racing twists and turns, and New York Times bestselling author Kami Garcia said it was “dangerous, sexy, romantic, and intense.” Now this final book brings the series to a shocking and climactic end.
Praise for the Shatter Me series:
“Dangerous, sexy, romantic, and intense. I dare you to stop reading.”—Kami Garcia, #1 New York Times bestselling coauthor of the Beautiful Creatures series
“Tahereh Mafi’s bold, inventive prose crackles with raw emotion. A thrilling, high-stakes saga of self-discovery and forbidden love, the Shatter Me series is a must-read for fans of dystopian young adult literature—or any literature!”—Ransom Riggs, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children
“Addictive, intense, and oozing with romance. I’m envious. I couldn’t put it down.”—Lauren Kate, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Fallen series

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...